Introduction

Following on from the earlier post, based on a mere 25 Twitter lists focused on Project Management, I’ve now updated this to a new research baseline of 908 lists.  Overwhelmingly these lists are focused on undifferentiated project management topics, although there are a small number on agile project management

Remember, this ranking is based on list membership only, i.e. the raw number of the total 908 lists in which they are members.

As before I’ve updated the list with additional information (end of May, 2016) to provide some context.

I’ve had a lot of queries regarding the validity of this ranking.  At one level, it’s just a raw count based on an arbitrary number of baseline source data sets.  At least in this version, the basline is much larger.

I acknowledge that this ranking might seem crude, but I still feel that it has some merit. List membership may have some significant relationship to the level of influence. beyond the raw statistics of tweet and follower counts.

This is because some person had to make a qualitative judgement of whether to add them to the list or not.  Typically that judgement is on the basis that the list owner regards the member as someone that they want to listen to on the topic.

Of course, this can be gamed, just as followers can be bought and tweets can be automated.  “WWW” is short for “Wild Wild West” as much as for “World Wide Web”

The Rankings: Top 250 Members of 908 Project Management Lists on Twitter

# Rank In # Lists Name Handle Tweets Followers Following
1 1 328 PMI PMInstitute 12623 86341 807
2 2 289 PMI’s blog team PMvoices 7957 38303 5916
3 3 236 ProjectManagers.NET ProjectNetwork 10360 23844 3763
4 3 236 Lindsay Scott projectmgmt 19414 9594 1799
5 5 206 Elizabeth Harrin pm4girls 10448 9688 835
6 5 206 Thomas Kennedy, PMP ThePMCoach 2722 46423 48863
7 7 196 Cornelius Fichtner corneliusficht 31793 10848 8942
8 8 172 PM Hut pmhut 4992 5197 0
9 9 162 PMI Agile pmiagile 3461 28207 244
10 10 152 Peter Taylor thelazypm 5293 6502 191
11 10 152 Project Management PRINCE2PROJECT 200675 320047 350374
12 12 151 PMtips.net pmtips 2500 9540 130
13 12 151 Project Smart News ProjectSmart 3668 7972 134
14 12 151 APM APMProjectMgmt 4597 13754 455
15 15 146 ProjectManager.com ProjectTips 4211 27869 267
16 16 143 pmStudent pmstudent 13093 3809 1763
17 17 127 Michael Kaplan mkaplanPMP 17108 298008 216953
18 18 121 Susanne Madsen SusanneMadsen 10207 7205 940
19 19 118 Project Management thepmtweet 769 11995 2137
20 20 117 Microsoft Project project 8492 27848 573
21 21 111 Oddball Empire oddballempire 5387 3568 723
22 22 108 Ron Rosenhead ronrosenhead 8043 4521 1647
23 23 105 Bernardo Tirado, PMP ProfessorTirado 25820 78746 2186
24 24 102 Parallel Projects parallelproject 3046 3703 1723
25 25 100 Bill Mabry BillMabry 10178 11709 8755
26 26 99 Derek Huether derekhuether 12749 3888 1831
27 27 97 Dave Garrett DaveG253 6685 9475 8440
28 28 96 Michiko Quinones MichikoDiby 2351 2965 2147
29 29 95 Geoff Crane PapercutPM 3535 2069 557
30 30 94 Robert Kelly rkelly976 18834 8559 8109
31 30 94 Edmonton PM EdmontonPM 22478 6266 3821
32 32 90 PMP® Exam Tips PMExamTips 21013 10917 8084
33 33 89 PMI Educ. Foundation pmief 558 8918 1013
34 33 89 Rita Mulcahy Rita_Mulcahy 95 4035 877
35 33 89 PPM Community ppmcommunity 737 2881 1427
36 36 88 Project Management ProjMgmt 569 7953 1
37 37 86 ProjectConnections ProjConnections 571 3059 346
38 38 84 Grandmaster PM GrandmasterPM 2702 8383 5895
39 39 83 TheICPM TheICPM 1182 3130 1887
40 40 80 Samad Aidane, PMP samadaidane 1137 3986 3345
41 40 80 Project Management ProjectManagerP 1355 7343 183
42 42 77 RMC Project rmcproject 2526 5037 3748
43 42 77 Project Management ManageProjects 824 6469 606
44 44 76 Deanne Earle UnlikeBefore 9405 2365 343
45 44 76 The PM Bookstore PMBookstore 759 3638 2823
46 46 73 Cola Herrero-Driver franklyPM 5521 1758 398
47 47 72 ProjectFile projectfile 9263 3019 182
48 47 72 Sara EM _sara_em 12172 2772 3026
49 49 71 Carlos Pampliega,PMP CJPampliega 28312 6133 5305
50 50 68 Todd Williams BackFromRed 8134 4313 3544
51 50 68 Jo Ann Sweeney commsabilities 7926 5167 5406
52 52 67 Project Times projecttimes 3509 3573 3068
53 52 67 Susan de Sousa MyPMExpert 3024 1143 61
54 54 66 IIL IILGlobal 11146 10133 3568
55 55 65 PMI Mile Hi Chapter PMIMileHi 7655 12326 12650
56 55 65 Purple Projects purpleprojects 7378 3636 2596
57 57 64 Linky Van Der Merwe virtualpm 19360 4584 4538
58 57 64 Shim Marom shim_marom 7342 1553 376
59 57 64 Harwinder, PMP deepfriedbrain 1520 2260 812
60 60 63 Chuck Graham crgpm 1312 1166 1119
61 60 63 Brad Egeland begeland 9738 1978 818
62 62 62 Luis Seabra Coelho lseabra 6809 2684 2230
63 63 61 Jhaymee S. Wilson TheGreenPM 1853 2062 1849
64 63 61 Michael Greer michael_greer 5971 3111 1916
65 63 61 erikaflora erikaflora 1827 3975 3233
66 66 58 Mark Phillipy SensiblePM 3560 2526 2417
67 66 58 Pawel Brodzinski pawelbrodzinski 9342 4330 227
68 66 58 Khalid Fakhouri, PMP khalidfakhouri 4545 4646 2721
69 69 57 Neil A Walker PPMpractitioner 12747 2904 814
70 69 57 Project Management PMArticles 1002 5445 1945
71 69 57 PMCAMPUS PMCAMPUS 4848 2007 1806
72 69 57 American Management AMAnet 46575 288964 118313
73 73 56 Project Insight ProjectInsight 9464 3073 2387
74 73 56 Workfront Workfront_Inc 11091 6563 1538
75 73 56 HighEndPM HighEndPM 3323 10378 9835
76 73 56 Jim Highsmith jimhighsmith 840 9444 193
77 77 55 Project Whisperer PamStanton 1966 2354 2568
78 77 55 Dr. John A. Estrella JohnEstrella 2381 37798 28299
79 79 54 Scrum Alliance ScrumAlliance 5714 35399 1023
80 79 54 Miguel thepmp 1718 1923 1588
81 81 53 Cesar Abeid, PMP PM4TM 7913 1783 306
82 81 53 Jeff Sutherland jeffsutherland 2183 29781 1390
83 81 53 Easy Project easyproject 11515 2365 2036
84 81 53 chris Amberhill_Assoc 3590 3353 3037
85 85 52 APM PMOSIG pmosigUK 2949 2858 765
86 85 52 Soma Bhattacharya Soma_b 4522 1491 420
87 85 52 Paul Slater Mushcado 16244 5726 5439
88 85 52 Peter Saddington agilescout 10423 8727 1326
89 85 52 Jim Apple. 5Minutes10 30342 1745 859
90 90 51 EarthPM, LLC RichEarthPM 2653 4268 2606
91 90 51 Ricardo Viana Vargas rvvargas 5346 12136 215
92 90 51 PMChat pmchat 6843 5931 5148
93 90 51 Naomi Caietti, PMP califgirl232 16862 2732 3062
94 94 49 Ralf Finchett pmoplanet 8708 2993 981
95 94 49 threew threew 9832 1837 1739
96 96 48 The Plan Is theplanis 492 541 236
97 96 48 PM Link (pmlink.com) pmlink 7567 1727 179
98 96 48 Cheri Essner, PMP CheriEssner 20424 3175 2391
99 99 47 Aaron Smith ProjectsAtWork 1623 3384 2004
100 99 47 andrea hammer projektlotse 5070 1552 1218
101 99 47 Thomas Weller thomas_weller 1426 8319 8075
102 99 47 Glen B. Alleman galleman 32770 2695 2371
103 103 46 pm411 Rjholohan 487 855 148
104 103 46 Margaret Meloni, PMP MargaretMeloni 4164 5565 5983
105 103 46 Ed Laccohee EdLac 976 6948 7417
106 103 46 BH Project Mgmt BrightHub_PM 4435 2323 960
107 107 45 Vicki James PMP CBAP VickiPPS 9378 2858 1148
108 107 45 PMBoulevard PMBoulevard 628 599 73
109 107 45 Jeff Furman PMAnswerBook 1686 2204 2183
110 107 45 LiquidPlanner LiquidPlanner 5751 12360 1812
111 111 44 PMCentersUSA PMCentersUSA 5372 2329 925
112 111 44 advancedPMO advancedPMO 1275 2942 1706
113 113 43 ProjectManagers.org ProjManagers 17138 5954 1862
114 113 43 Project World Project_World 2060 2403 1953
115 115 42 Andreas Splett splett 3096 1156 610
116 115 42 Gina Abudi GinaAbudi 6197 6327 6515
117 115 42 Global Knowledge GlobalKnowledge 19341 140800 52403
118 118 41 Joseph Phillips pmpinstructor 384 599 245
119 118 41 Jennifer Bridges PMP PDUs2Go 7981 2180 1395
120 118 41 Rajeev Ahooja RajeevAhooja 4784 2189 1350
121 118 41 gedpro (Jose Moro) gedpro 3749 2241 2163
122 118 41 KPS KellySolutions 9118 2708 2332
123 123 40 Mike Cohn mikewcohn 3667 29293 204
124 123 40 Dux Raymond Sy meetdux 46872 11088 991
125 123 40 Francisco Sáez franciscojsaez 27040 3807 380
126 123 40 Kareem Shaker kareemshaker 1926 1049 198
127 123 40 GKonProjectMgt GKonProjectMgt 2554 5864 4342
128 128 39 Ty Kiisel tykiisel 3564 4807 4014
129 128 39 Kane Mar scrumology 2303 19946 92
130 128 39 Johanna Rothman johannarothman 5105 9011 535
131 128 39 Lisa Drake lisamdrake 1645 860 476
132 128 39 Donna Reed AgilistaPM 1492 5437 5325
133 133 38 Wrike wrike 8333 6897 4348
134 133 38 John P Vajda PMmashable 492 675 96
135 133 38 pmhub pmhub 13194 1752 467
136 133 38 Raven Young ravenyoung 490 697 166
137 133 38 The Practicing IT PM PracticingITPM 564 1519 319
138 133 38 PMI_UK PMI_UK_Chapter 2776 3051 741
139 133 38 Ken Schwaber kschwaber 336 21544 55
140 140 37 Protrain Canada PMI ProtrainCanada 216 2001 1519
141 140 37 Project Manager ProjectMgr_au 2237 3018 388
142 140 37 Harvard Biz Review HarvardBiz 43794 2688263 195
143 140 37 Computer Aid, Inc. ComputerAidInc 10086 1875 2025
144 140 37 Dawn Reid, PMP DawnReidPM 2063 1463 557
145 140 37 Bob Tarne btarne 1817 957 285
146 146 36 Project Management ProManagement24 6258 6267 6581
147 146 36 Steve Hart pmfoundations 4930 1899 1453
148 146 36 Visma Solutions VismaSolutions 5877 25297 172
149 146 36 Mike Cottmeyer mcottmeyer 11907 8005 375
150 146 36 Joelle A Godfrey jgodfrey 11848 1792 1600
151 146 36 All Things Project AllThingsPM 235 2080 1292
152 152 35 MS Project Viewer msprojectviewer 4127 2037 1830
153 152 35 Journeyman PM journeymanpm 427 953 191
154 152 35 John Greenwood grandunifiedpm 1998 1162 386
155 152 35 Easy Projects easyprojectsnet 3650 1248 2056
156 152 35 CobaltPM cobaltpm 7339 7164 641
157 157 34 PM News PMForum 321 1546 647
158 157 34 Project Management ProManagement2 4425 4970 3574
159 157 34 PMI Madrid Spain PMIMadridSpain 1955 2777 139
160 157 34 GuyWakely GuyWakely 13740 1140 1185
161 157 34 Dina Garfinkel dinag 2229 1398 983
162 162 33 Joanne Ernst pm_coach 810 1077 1448
163 162 33 PMO: Lead & Innovate PMOObserver 23012 17689 12870
164 162 33 Sean Hull shull 5305 1651 692
165 162 33 AceProject AceProjectNow 1106 731 66
166 166 32 Nicola Caswell-Thorp PMOCentric 10593 743 388
167 166 32 Pete Winn Pete_Winn 3970 741 319
168 166 32 PRINCE2.com prince2blog 9699 4533 1230
169 166 32 Martin Webster TristanWember 9257 3172 2810
170 166 32 Jurgen Appelo jurgenappelo 36619 18116 1359
171 166 32 Albert Cubeles albertcmz 9431 3016 2751
172 166 32 APMG International APMG_Inter 8226 5925 1647
173 166 32 daniel echeverria dnlecheverria 5773 2041 1998
174 166 32 donniemacnicol DonnieMacNicol 7548 1855 2135
175 166 32 Bruce Benson BruceWBenson 632 863 770
176 176 31 Ron Jeffries RonJeffries 48574 21516 542
177 176 31 Saverio Losito, PMP SaverioLosito 4471 3028 2757
178 176 31 PMI Barcelona PMI_Barcelona 700 1553 140
179 176 31 Tariq Noor Khan tariqnoorkhan 34141 1127204 1091025
180 176 31 Son Nguyen nlongson 898 895 758
181 176 31 Steve Wilheir GanttGuru 379 812 595
182 176 31 Ivan Rivera, PMP irivera 12276 2002 1636
183 176 31 estherderby estherderby 13860 15529 10620
184 184 30 PMI Global Congress PMIcongress 2759 5222 467
185 184 30 Dan Tousignant ScrumDan 25153 56433 52237
186 184 30 Sam Barnes thesambarnes 7808 2316 517
187 184 30 p3m global p3mglobal 1063 1330 579
188 184 30 IMS IMS_PM 13195 4368 2500
189 184 30 Martin Fowler martinfowler 5741 173933 390
190 184 30 Arras People ArrasPeople 4703 1042 375
191 184 30 Erik Hamburger AmbidexterMan 920 560 412
192 192 29 PMI-OC PMIOC 3926 1712 470
193 192 29 quasutra quasutra 2773 678 1219
194 192 29 PM Academy PMgtAcademy 81 850 1681
195 192 29 PMI Rochester, NY PMI_Rochester 1263 2238 416
196 192 29 Terri Bauman TerriBauman 54601 475546 513162
197 192 29 SoftPMO™ Solutions SoftPMO 6 4077 2482
198 192 29 Torsten J. Koerting TorstenKoerting 1337 729 239
199 192 29 Project Management PMWiziq 415 2404 324
200 192 29 Joan Anton SwitchOntheBank 1360 5102 3745
201 192 29 Rob Prinzo robprinzo 5004 2083 1210
202 192 29 Kent Beck KentBeck 9919 96829 285
203 192 29 Gary Nelson, PMP Gazzaconsulting 4678 1580 1061
204 192 29 Brian Mossing bmossing 269 529 586
205 192 29 Anticlue Anticlue 1763 1174 1030
206 192 29 Dr Edward Wallington EdWallington 2841 1517 1999
207 192 29 Bridge PMs BridgePM 2109 1003 461
208 208 28 PM Today Magazine ProjectMToday 423 2916 1256
209 208 28 VersionOne versionone 9832 7008 3234
210 208 28 Rick A. Morris rickamorris 7022 1959 4295
211 208 28 Master Scrum MasterScrum 2014 141315 101801
212 208 28 Conrado Morlan PgMP CMorlanPgMP 2189 696 179
213 208 28 Basecamp basecamp 54269 115789 58
214 208 28 Barry Hodge BarryHodge 10476 1063 364
215 208 28 Andrew Filev andrewsthoughts 263 1279 206
216 216 27 Paul R. Williams PMP ThinkForAChange 9381 2396 1246
217 216 27 Steven Baker, PMP STEVEPMP 18416 10189 9294
218 216 27 Simon Moore simonwmoore 489 801 317
219 216 27 PMI Brasil PMIBrasil 1141 7707 39
220 216 27 Project-Aria PMProjectAria 8075 1328 1611
221 216 27 Janick jyburban 863 515 468
222 216 27 LiderDeProyecto.com liderdeproyecto 1126 4324 2984
223 216 27 George Bridges GeoBridges 2042 4172 4231
224 216 27 Kai Gilb kaigilb 283 5746 4411
225 216 27 Allen Ruddock ARRAPM 24816 2361 2120
226 226 26 PMI South Florida soflapmi 4248 2744 1172
227 226 26 Tony Adams TonyAdams2002 4648 1786 1659
228 226 26 Pivotal Tracker pivotaltracker 6087 10186 6
229 226 26 Michael Krigsman mkrigsman 45070 26637 445
230 226 26 Nina Braschler ninusch01 341 485 322
231 226 26 Patrick Richard hardnosedpm 456 594 448
232 226 26 JMBOK Academy JMBOKonline 8844 30805 33149
233 226 26 Mark Price Perry markpriceperry 331 749 615
234 226 26 David Anderson agilemanager 31332 7579 558
235 226 26 EvergreenPM EvergreenPM 6552 1189 683
236 226 26 Agile Connection agileconn 4857 8889 1186
237 226 26 Andy Siddiqi andysiddiqi 20843 10905 6128
238 226 26 Brett Harned brettharned 8139 3846 959
239 239 25 ProjectManagementcom ProjectMgtcom 1279 2525 1213
240 239 25 Conrado Morlan thesmartpms 2717 707 509
241 239 25 Planview Planview 4998 2055 1574
242 239 25 Jennifer Navarro jennifernavarro 2374 797 608
243 239 25 Steven Romero itgEvangelist 10888 1938 832
244 239 25 clarizen clarizen 8761 2350 1696
245 239 25 Strategy Execution 2080strategyex 3940 2616 2250
246 239 25 Andy Murray andymurray01 985 1571 787
247 239 25 Dale Richards dwrichy 1883 1119 258
248 248 24 ProjectDirectors.org ProjDirectors 8990 4427 1951
249 248 24 The Daily PM TheDailyPM 1095 443 1223
250 248 24 PMstudy pmstudy 10015 7080 355